Focal Topic Playlist

For my focal topic playlist I selected the songs “Technologic” by Daft Punk, “I Can Change “by LCD Soundsystem, “Bittersweet Symphony” by the Verve, “Fur Elise” by Ludwig van Beethoven, and Mozart’s “Violin Sonata in B-Flat Major”. In choosing these songs I wanted to establish a clear distinction in terms of sound, instruments used, and the year in which they were produced to showcase how digital literacy can be quite different from traditional forms of literacy in the classroom. The songs “Technologic” and “I Can Change” feature a much more digital sound with electric instruments used, and the songs can be somewhat categorized as digital music. I chose these two songs to represent the digital forms of literacy, because of their new-age sound that relies heavily on technology. In terms of “Fur Elise” and “Violin Sonata in B-Flat Major”, I put these songs on my playlist to represent the more traditional side of literacy because of the calmness these pieces present as well as their incorporation of the more traditional instruments such as the piano and violin. I did want to establish a sort of medium in my playlist however, so I chose the song “Bittersweet Symphony” to represent the compromise that can come out of using both digital literacy tools in the classroom as well as sticking to the more traditional teaching methods. This song features a very distinguishable violin sound as well as a few more digital sounds that present a good balance in terms of the new-age digital sound and the music of the more traditional instruments. In terms of a more metaphorical sense, I pictured “Technologic” and “I Can Change” representing a classroom that only uses digital literacy tools, (such as an IPad or a blog forum), to help their students learn, and “Fur Elise” and “Violin Sonata in B-Flat Major” representing an entirely traditional classroom that relies only on textbooks and pen/paper. Finally, “Bittersweet Symphony” is my interpretation of a balanced classroom, with some forms of digital literacy being utilized while still holding on to the more traditional styles of learning.

Leave a Reply

